Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



General overview of social policy

What is social policy?

The concept of social policy covers all provisions and measures aimed at removing or alleviating situations of distress and social problems at either the individual or collective level, as well as improving the welfare of the most vulnerable groups in the society.

Social policy objectives include:

  • social justice (equality, equal opportunities)
  • social security (protection against risks)
  • social peace
  • greater common prosperity shared by the greatest number.

Social policy fields

In the strictest sense, social policy refers to measures which directly serve to combat or prevent poverty, chiefly social security and social welfare, as well as other cantonal means-tested benefits. In a broader sense, other policy areas, such as labour market and employment policy, education, health, housing and even fiscal policy, can also be considered as part of social policy.

Actors

Social policy is underpinned by the principles of federalism and subsidiarity. Besides the public authorities (Confederation, cantons and municipalities), a range of other actors are involved in social policy: private institutions, churches, charitable works which undertake different types of social action and which implement public policies, notably on a performance contract basis. Associations and voluntary organisation networks also have an important role to play.

The role of the Federal Social Insurance Office (FSIO). As part of its mission to develop social insurance and to promote policies which serve the interests of families, the young, children and the elderly, the FSIO is responsible for establishing the relevant legal bases within its remit. The FSIO must also encourage collaboration with different actors and ensure the coordination of its measures and those taken in other areas of social policy.

The "Family, Generations and Society" domain of the FSIO is i.a. responsible for tracking social policy development and monitoring the context which underpins social security. The FSIO writes reports and compiles background documentation on relevant topics of interest. These are then submitted to the Federal Council and Parliament for consideration. In addition to its participation in commissions, and in internal and external working parties, the FSIO carries out research, organises conferences and provides information.

Its main fields of interest are poverty, social welfare, integration, relations between generations, alternative social security models (minimum income), sustainable development and migration.

Bodies which bring together institutional social policy actors include:

Swiss Conference of the Welfare Ministers of the Cantons (SODK/CDAS) deals with all current sociopolitical issues in Switzerland. It issues recommendations on subjects such as poverty, precarious living conditions, social security, means-tested benefits, social welfare, family policy and equal opportunities' policy insofar as they have a direct bearing on social policy, social issues linked to the elderly and the disabled, migration, victim support, dependency, education and social statistics.

Swiss Conference for Social Welfare (SKOS/CSIAS) is a professional association which focuses on the form which social welfare in Switzerland takes. The CSIAS is made up of municipal, cantonal and federal representatives, as well as members of private social welfare organisations. It issues recommendations and guidelines on the form and dimensions of social welfare, and develops instruments for practitioners.

Association romande et tessinoise des institutions d'action sociale (ARTIAS) provides information on social welfare in the French- and Italian-speaking regions of Switzerland. It creates networks of regional actors, and sets out social policy issues and discussions, in particular through the provision of online files which each deal with a particular aspect of social welfare.

Initiative des villes: politique sociale (Initiative of Swiss Cities on Social Policy) voices the interests of towns at the federal and cantonal level. It is committed to the harmonisation of federal, cantonal and municipal social security systems. It consists of a network of around 50 towns and is a specialist organisation within the Union of Swiss Towns (UVS/SSV).

Legal bases

Federal Constitution

The Preamble to the Federal Constitution declares the social commitment of the community as a whole: "The strength of a people is measured by the welfare of the weak".

Art. 2 The aims of the Confederation include promoting common welfare and ensuring the highest possible degree of equal opportunities for all citizens.

Art. 12 states that a fundamental social right for all is assistance in times of distress.

Art. 41 lists the social goals which are jointly pursued by the Confederation and the cantons. These goals concern access to all social protection, health care, paid employment, acceptable housing, basic and continuing education. Furthermore, families are protected and supported, as is the social, cultural and political integration of young people. It also contains an explicit reference to protection against traditional social risks ("social security"). Measures taken to achieve these social goals belong to social policy in the broadest sense of the term.

Art. 111 - 117 concern the different types of social insurance which are social security instruments in which the Confederation plays a preponderant role.

Federal legislation

Objectives of social policy, in the broadest sense of the term, are enshrined in several federal law.

Cantonal legislation

The cantons and the municipalities are the competent authorities in a number of areas of social policy. As such, they are primarily responsible for the legislation and regulation of social policy.

Further information

Sozialinfo (in German): Sozialinfo is the internet portal for social welfare in Switzerland. It provides information on legislation, specialist literature, and details of basic and continuing education courses.

Socialinfo (in French) provides information on basic and continuing education courses, as well as specialist literature. It also provides online access to files on a range of social policy topics, as well as directories and internet research tools.


Last modification: 03.06.2011

End Content Area

Full-text search



http://www.bsv.admin.ch/themen/gesellschaft/00072/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Sozialpolitik: Übersicht

Was ist Sozialpolitik

Der Begriff Sozialpolitik umschreibt die Bestrebungen und Massnahmen, welche darauf angelegt sind, die Nöte und Schwierigkeiten von Einzelnen oder Grup­pen zu verhüten, zu mildern oder zu beheben oder gezielt sozial benachteiligte Personengruppen zu unterstützen.

Die Ziele der Sozialpolitik umfassen

  • die soziale Gerechtigkeit (Verteilungsgerechtigkeit, Chancengleichheit)
  • die soziale Sicherheit (Absicherung gegen grosse Lebensrisiken)
  • den sozialen Frieden
  • die Hebung des Wohlstands und Ausweitung der Teilhabe daran.

Feld der Sozialpolitik

Im engeren Sinne wird der Begriff der Sozialpolitik für jene Massnahmen verwendet, die der direkten Armutsbekämpfung und -verhinderung dienen: Es sind dies vor allem die Sozialversicherungen, die Sozialhilfe und die weiteren kantonalen Bedarfsleistungen. Zur Sozialpolitik im weiteren Sinne gehören jedoch auch Politikbereiche wie Arbeitsmarkt und Beschäftigung, Bildung, Gesundheit, Wohnungsmarkt, Steuerrecht usw.

Die Akteure

Die Sozialpolitik ist geprägt durch die Grundsätze des Föderalismus und der Subsidiarität. Neben der öffentlichen Hand (Bund, Kantone, Gemeinden) sind zahlreiche weitere Akteure in diesem Feld tätig: Private Institutionen, Kirchen und Hilfswerke, welche zahlreiche Aufgaben der Sozialhilfe übernehmen und die sozialpolitischen Massnahmen umsetzen, meist im Rahmen eines Leistungsauftrags. Die Vereine, Selbsthilfegruppen und Freiwilligen spielen dabei ebenfalls eine sehr wichtige Rolle.

Die Rolle des Bundesamtes für Sozialversicherungen (BSV): Das BSV ist mit der Aufgabe betraut, die Sozialversicherungen weiterzuentwickeln und die Familien-, Jugend- und Kinderpolitik sowie die Alterspolitik zu unterstützen und zu fördern. Zur Verfolgung dieser Ziele bereitet das BSV in seinem Zuständigkeitsbereich die rechtlichen Grundlagen vor. Das Bundesamt soll zudem die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren fördern und seine Massnahmen mit jenen der übrigen sozialpolitischen Bereiche koordinieren.

Das Geschäftsfeld «Familie, Generationen und Gesellschaft» des BSV hat unter anderem die Aufgabe, die Entwicklung der Sozialpolitik und des Kontextes, in dem die soziale Sicherheit eingebettet ist, zu verfolgen. Es erstellt Berichte und erarbeitet Arbeitsgrundlagen über Themen von Interesse zu Handen des Bundesrates und des Parlaments, beteiligt sich an den Arbeiten von Kommissionen und Arbeitsgruppen inner- und ausserhalb der Bundesverwaltung, gibt Forschungsarbeiten in Auftrag, organisiert Tagungen und betreibt Informationsarbeit.

Die Themen von Interesse sind hauptsächlich: Armut, Sozialhilfe, Integration, Generationenbeziehungen, Systemfragen und alternative Modelle für die Soziale Sicherheit (z.B. garantiertes Mindesteinkommen), nachhaltige Entwicklung, Migration.

Die institutionellen Akteure der Sozialpolitik haben sich zu verschiedenen Organisationen zusammengeschlossen; darunter sind unter anderem folgende zu nennen:

Die Konferenz der kantonalen Sozialdirektoren und Sozialdirektorinnen (SODK), die sich mit allen aktuellen sozialpolitischen Fragen in der Schweiz befasst. Sie erarbeitet Stellungnahmen oder Empfehlungen zu Themen wie Armut, Integration, soziale Sicherheit, Bedarfsleistungen, Sozialhilfe, sozialrelevante Fragen der Familien- und Gleichstellungspolitik, Behinderten- und Betagtenpolitik, Migration, Opferhilfe, Sucht, Bildung sowie Statistik im Sozialbereich.

Die Schweizerische Konferenz für Sozialhilfe (SKOS), ein Fachverband, der sich für die Ausgestaltung der Sozialhilfe in der Schweiz engagiert. Die SKOS setzt sich aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern von Gemeinden, Kantonen, vom Bund sowie von privaten Sozialhilfeorganisationen zusammen. Sie erarbeitet unter anderem Richtlinien (Empfehlungen) für die Ausgestaltung und Bemessung der Sozialhilfe, entwickelt Arbeitsinstrumente für die Praxis und betreibt Forschungsarbeit zu sozialpolitischen Fragen.

Die Association romande et tessinoise des institutions d'action sociale (ARTIAS) informiert über soziale Fragen in der lateinischen Schweiz, vernetzt die in dieser Region tätigen Akteure und präsentiert sozialpolitische Fragen und Debatten, unter anderem mit Hilfe von Themendossiers, die online zugänglich sind.

Die Städteinitiative Sozialpolitik vertritt die sozialpolitischen Anliegen der Städte gegenüber dem Bund und den Kantonen. Sie setzt sich dafür ein, die Systeme der Sozialen Sicherung zwischen Bund, Kantonen und Gemeinden besser aufeinander abzustimmen. Die Städteinitiative vernetzt rund 50 Mitgliedstädte und ist eine Organisation des Schweizerischen Städteverbands.

Weitere Informationen

Sozialinfo Internetportal Sozialwesen Schweiz. Sozialinfo (in Deutsch) liefert unter anderen Informationen zu rechtlichen Fragen, Fachliteratur sowie zu Weiter- und Fortbildungsangeboten.

Socialinfo (in Französisch) liefert unter anderem Informationen über Weiter- und Fortbildungsangebote und Fachliteratur. Zudem werden Themendossiers, Verzeichnisse und Hilfsmittel für die Internetrecherche online zugänglich gemacht.

Rechtliche Grundlagen

Bundesverfassung (SR 101)

In der Präambel der Bundesverfassung steht, dass «die Stärke des Volkes sich (...) am Wohl der Schwachen» misst, womit ein soziales Engagement der Gemeinschaft angekündigt wird.

Nach Artikel 2 gehört die Förderung der gemeinsamen Wohlfahrt und das Sorgen für eine möglichst grosse Chancengleichheit unter den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern zu den Zielen der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft.

In Artikel 12 wird das Recht auf Hilfe in Notlagen unter die sozialen Grundrechte eingereiht.

In Artikel 41 werden die Sozialziele aufgelistet, für die sich Bund und Kantone gemeinsam einsetzen. So soll jede Person an der sozialen Sicherheit teilhaben, die für ihre Gesundheit notwendige Pflege erhalten, einer Erwerbsarbeit nachgehen, eine angemessene Wohnung finden, sich aus- und weiterbilden können. Zudem werden Familien geschützt und gefördert sowie Kinder und Jugendliche in ihrer sozialen, kulturellen und politischen Integration unterstützt. Explizit erwähnt wird der Schutz gegen die klassischen sozialen Risiken («soziale Sicherheit»). Massnahmen, die zur Erreichung dieser verschiedenen Sozialziele ergriffen werden, gehören zur Sozialpolitik im weiteren Sinn.

Artikel 111 bis 117 betreffen die Sozialversicherungen, die Instrumente des Sozialschutzes, bei dem der Bund eine führende Rolle übernimmt.


Bundesgesetze

Viele Bundesgesetze haben Zielsetzungen oder Auswirkungen, welche die Sozialpolitik im weiteren Sinn - wie weiter oben definiert - betreffen.


Kantonales Recht

Da die Kantone und Gemeinden für zahlreiche Bereiche der Sozialpolitik zuständig sind, erfolgt die Gesetzgebung und Reglementierung hauptsächlich auf diesen Ebenen.


Letzte Änderung: 03.06.2011

Ende Inhaltsbereich

Volltextsuche



http://www.bsv.admin.ch/themen/gesellschaft/00072/index.html?lang=de