Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



General overview of social policy

What is social policy?

The concept of social policy covers all provisions and measures aimed at removing or alleviating situations of distress and social problems at either the individual or collective level, as well as improving the welfare of the most vulnerable groups in the society.

Social policy objectives include:

  • social justice (equality, equal opportunities)
  • social security (protection against risks)
  • social peace
  • greater common prosperity shared by the greatest number.

Social policy fields

In the strictest sense, social policy refers to measures which directly serve to combat or prevent poverty, chiefly social security and social welfare, as well as other cantonal means-tested benefits. In a broader sense, other policy areas, such as labour market and employment policy, education, health, housing and even fiscal policy, can also be considered as part of social policy.

Actors

Social policy is underpinned by the principles of federalism and subsidiarity. Besides the public authorities (Confederation, cantons and municipalities), a range of other actors are involved in social policy: private institutions, churches, charitable works which undertake different types of social action and which implement public policies, notably on a performance contract basis. Associations and voluntary organisation networks also have an important role to play.

The role of the Federal Social Insurance Office (FSIO). As part of its mission to develop social insurance and to promote policies which serve the interests of families, the young, children and the elderly, the FSIO is responsible for establishing the relevant legal bases within its remit. The FSIO must also encourage collaboration with different actors and ensure the coordination of its measures and those taken in other areas of social policy.

The "Family, Generations and Society" domain of the FSIO is i.a. responsible for tracking social policy development and monitoring the context which underpins social security. The FSIO writes reports and compiles background documentation on relevant topics of interest. These are then submitted to the Federal Council and Parliament for consideration. In addition to its participation in commissions, and in internal and external working parties, the FSIO carries out research, organises conferences and provides information.

Its main fields of interest are poverty, social welfare, integration, relations between generations, alternative social security models (minimum income), sustainable development and migration.

Bodies which bring together institutional social policy actors include:

Swiss Conference of the Welfare Ministers of the Cantons (SODK/CDAS) deals with all current sociopolitical issues in Switzerland. It issues recommendations on subjects such as poverty, precarious living conditions, social security, means-tested benefits, social welfare, family policy and equal opportunities' policy insofar as they have a direct bearing on social policy, social issues linked to the elderly and the disabled, migration, victim support, dependency, education and social statistics.

Swiss Conference for Social Welfare (SKOS/CSIAS) is a professional association which focuses on the form which social welfare in Switzerland takes. The CSIAS is made up of municipal, cantonal and federal representatives, as well as members of private social welfare organisations. It issues recommendations and guidelines on the form and dimensions of social welfare, and develops instruments for practitioners.

Association romande et tessinoise des institutions d'action sociale (ARTIAS) provides information on social welfare in the French- and Italian-speaking regions of Switzerland. It creates networks of regional actors, and sets out social policy issues and discussions, in particular through the provision of online files which each deal with a particular aspect of social welfare.

Initiative des villes: politique sociale (Initiative of Swiss Cities on Social Policy) voices the interests of towns at the federal and cantonal level. It is committed to the harmonisation of federal, cantonal and municipal social security systems. It consists of a network of around 50 towns and is a specialist organisation within the Union of Swiss Towns (UVS/SSV).

Legal bases

Federal Constitution

The Preamble to the Federal Constitution declares the social commitment of the community as a whole: "The strength of a people is measured by the welfare of the weak".

Art. 2 The aims of the Confederation include promoting common welfare and ensuring the highest possible degree of equal opportunities for all citizens.

Art. 12 states that a fundamental social right for all is assistance in times of distress.

Art. 41 lists the social goals which are jointly pursued by the Confederation and the cantons. These goals concern access to all social protection, health care, paid employment, acceptable housing, basic and continuing education. Furthermore, families are protected and supported, as is the social, cultural and political integration of young people. It also contains an explicit reference to protection against traditional social risks ("social security"). Measures taken to achieve these social goals belong to social policy in the broadest sense of the term.

Art. 111 - 117 concern the different types of social insurance which are social security instruments in which the Confederation plays a preponderant role.

Federal legislation

Objectives of social policy, in the broadest sense of the term, are enshrined in several federal law.

Cantonal legislation

The cantons and the municipalities are the competent authorities in a number of areas of social policy. As such, they are primarily responsible for the legislation and regulation of social policy.

Further information

Sozialinfo (in German): Sozialinfo is the internet portal for social welfare in Switzerland. It provides information on legislation, specialist literature, and details of basic and continuing education courses.

Socialinfo (in French) provides information on basic and continuing education courses, as well as specialist literature. It also provides online access to files on a range of social policy topics, as well as directories and internet research tools.


Last modification: 03.06.2011

End Content Area

Full-text search



http://www.bsv.admin.ch/themen/gesellschaft/00072/index.html?lang=en

Office fédéral des assurances sociales OFAS

Début sélection langue



Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Politique sociale: vue d'ensemble

Qu’entend-on par politique sociale

Le concept de politique sociale couvre toutes les dispositions et mesures qui visent à prévenir, supprimer ou atténuer les situations de détresse et les problèmes sociaux, au niveau individuel ou collectif, ou qui cherchent à favoriser le bien-être des groupes plus fragiles de la société.

Les objectifs de la politique sociale comprennent 

  • la justice sociale (équité, égalité des chances)
  • la sécurité sociale (protection contre les grands risques de l'existence)
  • la paix sociale
  • l'accroissement de la prospérité et la plus large participation à cette prospérité commune.

Champ de la politique sociale

Au sens strict, la politique sociale désigne les mesures qui servent directement à lutter contre la pauvreté ou à la prévenir, en premier lieu les assurances sociales et l'aide sociale, ainsi que les autres prestations cantonales sous condition de ressources. Au sens large, d'autres domaines relèvent également de la politique sociale, tels que la politique du marché du travail et de l'emploi, la politique de la formation, de la santé, du logement ou encore la politique fiscale.

Les acteurs

La politique sociale est marquée par les principes du fédéralisme et de la subsidiarité. De nombreux acteurs interviennent aux côtés des pouvoirs publics (Confédération, cantons, communes) : des institutions privées, les Églises et les œuvres d'entraide qui effectuent de nombreuses tâches d'action sociale et qui mettent en œuvre des politiques publiques notamment sur mandat de prestation. Les associations, réseaux d'entraide et bénévoles jouent également un rôle très important.

Le rôle de l'Office fédéral des assurances sociales (OFAS). Dans sa mission de développer les assurances sociales et de promouvoir la politique en faveur des familles, des jeunes, des enfants et des personnes âgées, l'OFAS prépare les bases légales dans son champ de compétences ; l'office doit en outre encourager la collaboration des différents acteurs et veiller à coordonner ses mesures avec celles des autres domaines de la politique sociale.

Le domaine « Famille, générations et société » de l'OFAS est chargé, notamment, de suivre l'évolution de la politique sociale et du contexte dans lequel s'inscrit la sécurité sociale. Il établit des rapports et des bases de travail sur les thèmes d'intérêt à l'intention du Conseil fédéral et du Parlement, participe aux travaux de commissions et groupes de travail internes et externes à l'administration fédérale, fait effectuer des travaux de recherche, organise des Conférences et diffuse de l'information.

Les principaux thèmes d'intérêt sont la pauvreté, l'aide sociale, l'intégration, les relations entre générations, les aspects structurels de la sécurité sociale et les modèles alternatifs (par ex. revenu minimum), le développement durable et la migration.

Parmi les organismes qui réunissent des acteurs institutionnels de la politique sociale, on compte :

La Conférence des directrices et directeurs cantonaux des affaires sociales (CDAS), qui se préoccupe de toutes les questions sociopolitiques actuelles en Suisse. Elle prend position ou élabore des recommandations sur des sujets tels que la pauvreté, l'intégration, la sécurité sociale, les prestations liées aux besoins, l'aide sociale, la politique familiale et la politique d'égalité dans leur rapport avec la politique sociale, les questions sociales liées aux personnes âgées ou aux personnes handicapées, la migration, l'aide aux victimes, la dépendance, la formation ou encore la statistique dans le domaine social.

La Conférence suisse des institutions d'action sociale (CSIAS), association professionnelle qui s'engage en faveur de la conception de l'aide sociale en Suisse. La CSIAS se compose de représentantes et de représentants des communes, des cantons, de la Confédération ainsi que des organisations privées de l'aide sociale. Elle édite notamment les normes (recommandations) concernant les principes et le calcul de l'aide sociale, développe des instruments de travail pour la pratique et mène des recherches sur des questions de politique sociale.

L'Association romande et tessinoise des institutions d'action sociale (ARTIAS) informe sur le social en Suisse latine, met en lien les acteurs de cette région et présente les enjeux et les débats de politique sociale, notamment au moyen de dossiers thématiques en ligne.

L'Initiative des villes: politique sociale est le porte-parole des villes auprès de la Confédération et des cantons. Elle agit pour harmoniser le dispositif de sécurité sociale reposant sur la Confédération, les cantons et les communes. Elle forme un réseau d'une cinquantaine de villes membres et constitue une organisation spécialisée au sein de l'Union des villes suisses.

Pour d’autres informations

Socialinfo (en français) fournit notamment des informations sur les offres de formation et formation continue et sur la littérature spécialisée. Il donne accès en ligne à des dossiers thématiques, des répertoires et des supports pour la recherche sur internet.

Sozialinfo (en allemand) Sozialinfo Internetportal Sozialwesen Schweiz fournit notamment des informations sur le droit, la littérature spécialisée et les offres de formation et formation continue.

Bases légales

Constitution fédérale  (RS 101)

 Le Préambule de la Constitution fédérale, « La force de la communauté se mesure au bien-être du plus faible de ses membres », annonce un engagement social de la collectivité.

Selon l'art. 2, favoriser la prospérité commune et garantir une égalité des chances aussi grande que possible font partie des buts de la Confédération.

L'art. 12 énonce, comme l'un des droits sociaux fondamentaux, celui d'obtenir de l'aide dans des situations de détresse.

L'art. 41 énumère les buts sociaux pour lesquels la Confédération et les cantons s'engagent conjointement. Ces buts ont trait à l'accès de tous à la protection sociale, aux soins de santé, à un travail rémunérateur, à un logement convenable, à la formation de base et à la formation continue. Il importe en outre que la famille soit protégée et encouragée, et que l'intégration sociale, culturelle et politique des jeunes soit soutenue. La protection contre les risques sociaux traditionnels (« sécurité sociale ») est expressément mentionnée. Les mesures prises en vue de la réalisation de ces différents buts sociaux relèvent de la politique sociale au sens large. Il n'est cependant pas possible de déduire de ces buts sociaux des droits opposables.

Les art. 111 à 117 concernent les assurances sociales, qui sont les instruments de la sécurité sociale dans laquelle la Confédération joue un rôle prépondérant.


Lois fédérales

De nombreuses lois fédérales ont des visées et des effets de politique sociale au sens large de la définition donnée ci-dessus.


Droit cantonal 

Les cantons et les communes étant compétents pour de nombreux domaines de la politique sociale, la législation et la réglementation se font principalement à ces niveaux.


Dernière modification : 03.06.2011

Fin secteur de contenu

Recherche plein texte



Office fédéral des assurances sociales (OFAS)
Contact | Informations juridiques
http://www.bsv.admin.ch/themen/gesellschaft/00072/index.html?lang=fr